Sprint Invaders



Sprint Source

Dustin Selvage Wins “Shocker” with Sprint Invaders at 34 Raceway!

(Bill W) July 3, 2013 – Dustin Selvage emerged victorious in a wild feature Wednesday night at the 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa. It was Dustin’s second career win with the Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders, and his second in a row, as “The Shocker” picked up a 360 win on Saturday at Knoxville Raceway. The feature saw five lead changes.

Selvage shot out to an early lead in the 34-lapper from his pole starting position ahead of Matt Krieger and Alan Ambers. Ryan Jamison was moving up through the field on the low side and picked up third from Ambers on lap four. A lap later, Ambers would spin, bringing the caution flag.

On the restart, Jamison drove under Krieger for second, but that spot was swapped again. Tony Shilling spun over the turn two berm with seven laps in the books. The restart saw Selvage ahead of Krieger, Jamison, Jon Agan and Matt Sutton. When Krieger jumped the turn two berm on that restart, Jamison capitalized to move into second.

Ambers spun for a second time on lap 13, ending his night. Krieger, Sutton and Russ Hall, up from the 17th starting position, were battling three-wide for third at the time of the caution. Jamison worked the low side until moving by Selvage for the lead on lap sixteen. Meanwhile, Jarrod Schneiderman moved up from 19th to take third from Krieger on the same lap.

With 20 laps in the books, the race’s scheduled pit stop took place. Jamison led Selvage, Jarrod Schneiderman, Krieger and Hall at the time. The leaders raced side by side when the green fell again, with Selvage on the high side and Jamison down low. Selvage took the lead in a furious battle on lap 23, only to have Jamison reclaim it five laps later. Selvage carried his momentum on the top again to take the point for good on lap 29 in heavy traffic.

Krieger exited late in the going while running fourth. Hall, also utilizing the cushion ran by Jamison on the white flag lap to claim second. Jamie Veal drove from 14th to 4th, while Jarrod Schneiderman completed the top five. Bobby Mincer, Josh Schneiderman, Agan, Sutton and Daniel Bergquist rounded out the top ten.

“That was a lot of fun,” said Selvage. “I felt really good on the top the first ten laps or so. We had a restart, and one of my guys told me to go to the bottom. We were absolutely terrible down there. I let Jamison get by. I knew the car was good on top, so I figured out where I needed to run it, and where I could push it. We just got in a good rhythm. Lapped traffic definitely worked for us. They were all running down there in Jamison’s line.”

“That’s the best I’ve ever felt here at Burlington,” said Hall. “I think it may have been the result of having to run the B main, which I hate. But if we had to run it, tonight was definitely the night. This Waterfront Seafood Market car is the best we’ve ever had here, and I can’t wait to come back.”

“Lapped traffic didn’t do us any favors,” said Jamison. “We didn’t change much, just a little air pressure. Sometimes it’s better to be second or third than it is in the lead. Sometimes, you’re a bit of a sitting duck. It was an interesting format, but it didn’t do me much good. It was a good points night for us.”

While Hall won the B and came in leading the points, Paul Nienhiser came in second, but was a casualty after suffering motor issues in his heat. Harold Pohren got upside down in his heat and scratched for the night. Agan, Sutton, Josh Schneiderman and Jamison won heats, while Agan also took the Dash.

The Sprint Invaders will compete in a doubleheader next weekend. On Thursday, July 11, they’ll be at the Cedar County Raceway in Tipton, Iowa and on Friday, July 12, they’ll move down to the Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa.

A Main (started), 34 laps: 1. 73, Dustin Selvage, Indianola, IA (1) 2. 45c, Russ Hall, Pleasant Hill, IA (17) 3. 51J, Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis, IA (7) 4. 35AU, Jamie Veal, Warrnambool, VIC, Aust. (14) 5. 14s, Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (19) 6. 15, Bobby Mincer, Burlington, IA (11) 7. 2, Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (4) 8. 4, Jon Agan, Knoxville, IA (6) 9. 3, Matt Sutton, Macomb, IL (5) 10. 9D, Daniel Bergquist, Burlington, IA (13) 11. 84, Dustin Whiting, Burlington, IA (8) 12. 83, Dave Getchell, Sperry, IA (20) 13. 28, Tony Shilling, Knoxville, IA (12) 14. 5J, Jamie Ball, Knoxville, IA (16) 15. 2x, Patrick Moore, Moline, IL (10) 16. 56, Matt Krieger, Burlington, IA (3) 17. 68, Mike Houseman Jr., Des Moines, IA (15) 18. 40, Andy Huston, Roseville, IL (9) 19. 39x, Alan Ambers, Knoxville, IA (2) 20. 16HD, Donnie Steward, West Burlington, IA (18) DNS – 1, Jayson Ditsworth, Gladstone, IL. Lap Leaders: Selvage 1-15, Jamison 16-22, Selvage 23-27, Jamison 28, Selvage 29-34. KSE Hard Charger: Hall.

Advanced Plumbing & Mechanical Heat one (started, top two to Dash, top four to A, 8 laps): 1. Jon Agan (4) 2. Alan Ambers (3) 3. Andy Huston (2) 4. Daniel Bergquist (6) / 5. 10T, Tim Moore, Rock Island, IL (1) 6. Dave Getchell (5) 7. 6, Mitchell Alexander, Knoxville, IA (8) 8. 85, Chase Wanner, Agency, IA (7) 9. 7x, Brady Bennett, Burlington, IA (9)

Huston Land Improvement Heat two (started, top two to Dash, top four to A, 8 laps): 1. Matt Sutton (3) 2. Dustin Whiting (6) 3. Patrick Moore (5) 4. Jamie Veal (8) / 5. Jarrod Schneiderman (7) 6. 59, Jacob Glasgow, West Burlington, IA (1) 7. 9, Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL (4) 8. 50P, Harold Pohren, Lowell, IA (2)

CenPeCo Heat three (started, top two to Dash, top four to A, 8 laps): 1. Josh Schneiderman (1) 2. Matt Krieger (2) 3. Bobby Mincer (3) 4. Mike Houseman Jr. (6) / 5. Russ Hall (5) 6. Jamie Ball (4) 7. 99, Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, IL (7) 8. 36, Justin Newberry, West Burlington, IA (8)

Brockway & Mechanical Heat four (started, top two to Dash, top four to A, 8 laps): 1. Ryan Jamison (2) 2. Dustin Selvage (3) 3. Tony Shilling (5) 4. Jayson Ditsworth (4) / 5. Donnie Steward (6) 6. 1st, John Greenwood, Woodward, IA (1) 7. 43, Dillan Roth, Burlington, IA (8) 8. 9B, Richard Brod, Downers Grove, IL (7) DNS – 88, John Schulz, Danville, IA

Budweiser “King of Beers” Shake-up Dash (started, 6 laps): 1. Jon Agan (2) 2. Dustin Selvage (4) 3. Alan Ambers (1) 4. Matt Krieger (6) 5. Josh Schneiderman (8) 6. Matt Sutton (7) 7. Ryan Jamison (3) 8. Dustin Whiting (5)

B main (started, top five to A, 12 laps): 1. Russ Hall (3) 2. Jamie Ball (7) 3. Jarrod Schneiderman (2) 4. Donnie Steward (4) 5. Dave Getchell (5) / 6. John Greenwood (8) 7. Justin Newberry (15) 8. Jimmy Davies (11) 9. Chase Wanner (13) 10. Dillan Roth (10) 11. Tim Moore (1) 12. Mitchell Alexander (9) 13. Brady Bennett (14) 14. Richard Brod (12) 15. Jacob Glasgow (6) DNS – Paul Nienhiser, Harold Pohren, John Schulz


Weld Racing – Matt Sutton
Saldana Racing Products – Matt Krieger
SBI – Alan Ambers
1st Non-Qualifier – John Greenwood
DOC 360 Mystery Spot – Daniel Bergquist
DOC 360 Mystery Spot – Dave Getchell

Article Credit: Bill Wright

Submitted By: Admin Account

Back to News

Upcoming Event


Follow Us

Randall’s Performance
Hoosier Racing Tires
Golden Eagle Distributing
Midland Performance
Reids Landscaping  Turf
Joshua Denning  Associates
Mohrfeld Solar
Campbells Body Shop
Chris Wahl-Levitt
Central Petroleum Company
Shottenkirk Automotive Group