Sprint Invaders



Sprint Source

Dustin Selvage Wins Feature, Russ Hall Wins Championship!

(Bill W) September 21, 2013 – Dustin Selvage won the battle. Russ Hall won the war. At 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa on Saturday night, Selvage, of Indianola, Iowa, won the season championship 30-lap feature over Hall. But all the Pleasant Hill, Iowa native Hall needed to do to clinch the 2013 Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Sprint Invaders season championship was take the green.

CJ Houseman, making his first sprint car start of 2013, led early from the pole position in the 30-lapper with Hall and Selvage in tow. The lead trio hit traffic and on lap seven, Selvage slipped by Hall for the second spot. Two laps later, Houseman stumbled, allowing Selvage by for the lead. Houseman would cruise over the turn one berm, bringing a caution, while Tim Moore flipped in turn three. Both were uninjured, and Houseman would rejoin the field at the tail.

On the restart, Selvage led Hall, Joe Beaver, Jarrod Schneiderman and Jon Agan. When the green fell, Schneiderman shot by Beaver into the show position and pursue the leaders. The next fifteen laps went non-stop with Selvage guiding the Kenny Bragg #73 on the cushion through lapped traffic.

Joey Moughan was battling Bobby Mincer for sixth when he tried to squeeze between Mincer and the lapped car of Jimmy Davies on lap 23. He caught Davies left front wheel and the caution came out. Davies amazingly stayed right side up in the collision, and it set up a seven lap Dash to the finish.

Selvage would pull away for his third career Sprint Invaders win, and second of the season at 34 Raceway. He would finish second in the season standings to Hall, who would hold onto second. Schneiderman finished third, ahead of Beaver and hard-charger, Paul Nienhiser. Moughan, Agan, Mincer, Matt Sutton and Matt Krieger would round out the top ten.

Beaver, Agan, Selvage and Schneiderman were heat race winners. Moughan claimed the B main and Beaver also won the Dash.

“I felt like I was getting through the lapped traffic pretty well, then I would get hung up on a couple of cars,” said Selvage in Victory Lane. “I saw Russ there a few times, and I didn’t know how he was getting through traffic. The restart late helped us I think, because we had clean air at that point. This car is owned by Kenny Bragg and Chris McGraw. They decided over the winter to do this whole Sprint Invaders deal, and I was the lucky one to get to drive it.”

“I’d like to thank all the fans for coming out tonight, and for supporting us all year,” said a happy Hall. “This Sprint Invaders series is the best one going. I get to run with a lot of organizations, but this is definitely my favorite. It has the best drivers and the cleanest drivers. Unfortunately, my Dad couldn’t make it tonight. He sacrificed everything for this team. I wish he could have been here.”

“We kind of got behind trying to get by some of the guys that started in front of us,” said the third place Schneiderman. “When we got to lapped traffic, we kind of reeled the leaders back in. The yellow came out and we were behind some lapped cars, so they were able to get out by themselves. We were alright tonight.”

A Main (started), 30 laps: 1. 73, Dustin Selvage, Indianola, IA (4) 2. 45c, Russ Hall, Pleasant Hill, IA (2) 3. 14s, Jarrod Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (6) 4. 53, Joe Beaver, Knoxville, IA (3) 5. 9, Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL (15) 6. 15m, Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL (16) 7. 4, Jon Agan, Knoxville, IA (5) 8. 15, Bobby Mincer, Burlington, IA (9) 9. 3, Matt Sutton, Macomb, IL (11) 10. 56, Matt Krieger, Burlington, IA (10) 11. 44, Chris Martin, Ankeny, IA (8) 12. 2, Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA (13) 13. 36, Justin Newberry, West Burlington, IA (7) 14. 8, Laney Feight, Indianola, IA (12) 15. 40, Andy Huston, Roseville, IL (17) 16. 80x, CJ Houseman, Des Moines, IA (1) 17. 83, Dave Getchell, Sperry, IA (pr., 19) 18. 99, Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, IL (18) 19. 95, Tommy Rockwell, Towanda, IL (21) 20. 10T, Tim Moore, Rock Island, IL (14) 21. 2x, Pat Moore, Moline, IL (20) DNS – 51J, Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis, IA, 9D, Daniel Bergquist, Burlington, IA. Lap Leaders: CJ Houseman 1-8, Selvage 9-30. KSE Hard Charger: Nienhiser.

Advanced Plumbing & Mechanical Heat one (started, top four to A main, top two to Dash, 8 laps): 1. Joe Beaver (2) 2. CJ Houseman (1) 3. Chris Martin (3) 4. Laney Feight (5) / 5. Joey Moughan (7) 6. 1, Jayson Ditsworth, Gladstone, IL (6) 7. 20T, Corey Timmerman, Burlington, IA (8) 8. 6, Mitchell Alexander, Knoxville, IA (4)

Huston Land Improvement Heat two (started, top four to A main, top two to Dash, 8 laps): 1. Jon Agan (4) 2. Justin Newberry (2) 3. Bobby Mincer (6) 4. Josh Schneiderman (7) / 5. Andy Huston (3) 6. 50P, Harold Pohren, Lowell, IA (5) 7. 1st, John Greenwood, Woodward, IA (1) 8. Tommy Rockwell (8)

CenPeCo Heat three (started, top four to A main, top two to Dash, 8 laps): 1. Dustin Selvage (2) 2. Ryan Jamison (4) 3. Matt Krieger (3) 4. Tim Moore (6) / 5. Pat Moore (5) 6. Jimmy Davies (8) 7. Dave Getchell (1) 8. 43, Dillan Roth, Burlington, IA (7)

Brockway Mechanical & Roofing Heat four (started, top four to A main, top two to Dash, 8 laps): 1. Jarrod Schneiderman (1) 2. Russ Hall (3) 3. Matt Sutton (6) 4. Paul Nienhiser (7) / 5. Daniel Bergquist (4) 6. 85, Chase Wanner, Agency, IA (2) 7. 9B, Richard Brod, Downers Grove, IL (8) 8. 24, Josh Higday, Des Moines, IA (5)

Budweiser “King of Beers” Shake-up Dash (started, 6 laps): 1. Joe Beaver (4) 2. Dustin Selvage (3) 3. Jon Agan (6) 4. Jarrod Schneiderman (5) 5. CJ Houseman (1) 6. Russ Hall (7) 7. Justin Newberry (2) 8. Ryan Jamison (8)

B main (started, top six to A main, 12 laps): 1. Joey Moughan (1) 2. Daniel Bergquist (4) 3. Andy Huston (2) 4. Jimmy Davies (6) 5. Pat Moore (3) 6. Tommy Rockwell (13) / 7. Dave Getchell (10) 8. Chase Wanner (7) 9. John Greenwood (9) 10. Richard Brod (11) 11. Harold Pohren (5) 12. Mitchell Alexander (12) 13. Corey Timmerman (8) DNS – Jayson Ditsworth, Dillon Roth, Josh Higday


Weld – Dave Getchell
Saldana Racing Products – Pat Moore
SBI – Jimmy Davies

DOC 360 – Chris Martin, Justin Newberry, Andy Huston

Article Credit: Bill Wright

Submitted By: Admin Account

Back to News

Upcoming Event


Follow Us

Randall’s Performance
Hoosier Racing Tires
Golden Eagle Distributing
Midland Performance
Reids Landscaping  Turf
Joshua Denning  Associates
Mohrfeld Solar
Campbells Body Shop
Chris Wahl-Levitt
Central Petroleum Company
Shottenkirk Automotive Group