Sprint Invaders

Two in Iowa This Weekend for Sprint Invaders!


Sprint Invaders

Two in Iowa This Weekend for Sprint Invaders!

Two in Iowa This Weekend for Sprint Invaders!

(Bill W) August 30, 2023 – Labor Day weekend will see the Sprint Invaders at two eastern Iowa speed plants. This Saturday, September 2 the series will make its first appearance at West Liberty Raceway in thirteen years. On Sunday, September 3, the Sprint Invaders return to the Benton County Speedway in Vinton for the second time this year.

The Sprint Invaders visited the West Liberty half-mile oval five straight years from 2006 to 2010. There were five different winners, and there is expected to be a sixth different victor on Saturday. Jesse Giannetto, Jerrod Hull, Josh Schneiderman, Matt Rogerson and Bobby Mincer topped previous visits.

Grandstands open at 5 p.m. Saturday in West Liberty, with hot laps scheduled for 6 p.m. *** IMCA Late Models, Modifieds, Sport Mods, Stock Cars and Sport Compacts will also be on the card.

Sunday will mark the fourth time in three years that the Sprint Invaders have invaded the Benton County Speedway bullring. Cody Wehrle emerged victorious in a July visit to Vinton, joining Jonathan Cornell and Luke Verardi as a winner there.

The gates open at 3:30 p.m. Sunday with hot laps scheduled for 5:30. Grandstand admission is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors and veterans and $5 for ages 6-14. Five and under are FREE with a paid adult. IMCA Sport Compacts, INEX Legend Cars and A.I.R.S. will also be in action.

For more information on the Sprint Invaders, visit www.SprintInvaders.org or

2023 Sprint Invaders Schedule

Saturday, April 1 – 34 Raceway (Cold)
Sunday, May 28 – 34 Raceway (Paul Nienhiser, Burlington, IA)
Thursday, June 15 – Eldon Raceway (Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA)
Friday, June 23 – Davenport Speedway (Scott Bogucki, McLaren Vale, SA, Aust.)
Saturday, June 24 – Spoon River Speedway (Chris Martin, Ankeny, IA)
Friday, June 30 – Jacksonville Speedway (Rain)
Sunday, July 2 – Benton County Speedway (Cody Wehrle, Burlington, IA)
Wednesday, July 26 – Dubuque Speedway (Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL)
Saturday, August 19 – Peoria Speedway (Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL)
Sunday, August 20 – Adams County Speedway (Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL)
Saturday, September 2 – West Liberty Raceway (West Liberty, IA)
Sunday, September 3 – Benton County Speedway (Vinton, IA)
Friday, September 22 – Lee County Speedway (Donnellson, IA)
Saturday, September 23 – 34 Raceway (West Burlington, IA) “Fall Haul”

2023 Sprint Invaders Driver Points (Feature Wins)

  1. Ryan Bunton, Morton, IL, 1665
  2. Colton Fisher, Mediapolis, IA, 1652
  3. Cody Wehrle, Burlington, IA, 1614 (1)
  4. Bret Tripplett, Lincoln, IL, 1592
  5. Tyler Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA, 1533
  6. Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL, 1524 (4)
  7. Luke Verardi, Taylorville, IL, 1522
  8. Chase Richards, Burlington, IA, 1393
  9. Devin Wignall, Altoona, IA, 1310
  10. Josh Higday, Des Moines, IA, 1191
  11. Tanner Gebhardt, Burlington, IA, 1166
  12. Dustin Clark, Agency, IA, 1145
  13. McCain Richards, Burlington, IA, 1013
  14. Austin Archdale, Brimfield, IL, 908
  15. Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis, IA, 863
  16. Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA, 846 (1)
  17. Randy Martin, California, MO, 780
  18. Chris Martin, Ankeny, IA, 658 (1)
  19. Cam Martin, Ankeny, IA, 589
  20. Scott Bogucki, McLaren Vale, SA, Aust., 448 (1)
  21. Ryan Edwards, Waverly, IL, 332
  22. Jamie Ball, Knoxville, IA, 220
  23. Alex Vande Voort, Knoxville, IA, 178
  24. Dugan Thye, Burlington, IA, 178
  25. Dustin Selvage, Indianola, IA, 172
  26. Aidan Zoutte, Knoxville, IA, 166

Series Sponsors

Shottenkirk Automotive is the A main sponsor. Randall’s Performance of Gladstone, Illinois, Joshua Denning & Associates of Fort Madison, Iowa, Mohrfeld Solar of Fort Madison, and Golden Eagle Distributors of Mount Pleasant, Iowa are heat sponsors. Campbell’s Body Shop & Towing will be the Trophy Sponsor. Reid’s Landscapes and Turf will award $50 to anyone drawing a 50 pill to begin the night. A hard-charger award will be presented each night in honor of Christine Wahl Levitt. That is presented by Scott Donlan.

K-1 Race Gear Sponsors Champion and Rookie of the Year

K-1 Race Gear will award a custom fit uniform to not only this season’s Sprint Invaders Champion, but also the Rookie of the Year with the series.

From K-1 Race Gear: "K-1 Race Gear is proud to be partnered with the Sprint Invaders! More drivers trust K1 Race Gear with all of their safety product needs than any other brand on the market. Whether it is Premium custom suits, gloves or shoes, K1 Race Gear has you covered. Find out more at www.k1racegear.com and follow us along at @k1racegear on all social media platforms. K1 Race Gear. The racer's brand of safety gear and apparel."

K1 Race Gear was born in 2003 with the philosophy of offering products to our customers that we ourselves would be proud to use. At K1 Race Gear, we are racers ourselves, and we understand the value of buying quality racing products at a reasonable price. To meet the needs of our customers, we strive to provide quality racing equipment at K1 Race Gear - including racing shoes, suits, driving gloves, helmets, and more - to racers of all ages at a great value. Whether your son or daughter is just starting out in the sport or you have a life-long passion for racing, we have the products for you in our full line of K1 Race Gear. If you are interested in purchasing karting or racing equipment, including racing shoes, suits, and driving gloves, contact K1 Race Gear today!

Bill W Media
Monroe, IA USA
Threads: @BillWMedia
Website: www.OpenWheel101.com

Article Media

Back to News

Upcoming Event


Follow Us

Randall’s Performance
Hoosier Racing Tires
Golden Eagle Distributing
Midland Performance
Reids Landscaping  Turf
Joshua Denning  Associates
Mohrfeld Solar
Chris Wahl-Levitt
Central Petroleum Company
Shottenkirk Automotive Group
Georges Lawnmower
Jerns Heating  Cooling
Holtkamps Trailer Repair